top of page

Back to School

I can't believe that back-to-school season is upon us already! This September is a big one for us, H is starting three year old preschool and C is starting kindergarten at a new school. It truly is an exciting time for us here in the Ganief household.



Here's a OUR back-to-school must-haves!



1) Backpacks


When I was growing up, I remember my Mom taking my brother and I to the store to pick out our backpacks for the school year. It was always an exciting time for me and I knew I'd do the same for my kids when they started school. Since this September is a BIG milestone for them, I wanted to make it super special so I took the kids to Walmart to pick out their backpacks. C and H were so happy to be able to pick out their own bags and to see their happy faces made my day and because of the amazing prices at Walmart, I only spent $10/each!




2) Lunch Cases



Three things, get cases with proper insulation to keep food as cold or as warm as when you packed it, purchase cases that will fit your lunch boxes AND water bottles (if possible - ours don't but my kids carry around their water bottles by hand anyway!) and lastly, soft shelled cases are GREAT as they'll last longer and they're easier to store. Clunky metal or plastic cases can become dented or cracked. A good friend of mine recommended that I purchase two cases per kid, just in case one goes missing or gets damaged. Since C is heading into K, he'll be using his case every single day and the probability of him forgetting or even losing his case is high.


Tip: The Dollar Store has some pretty awesome cases for only $4

Photo from Amazon.ca.



3) Bentology Lunch Boxes


My kids have been using Bentology boxes for almost three years now. These bentos have been with us on every single adventure. They've lasted the test of time AND our dish washer. What I enjoy most about these lunch boxes is their removable compartments. I am not obligated to keep a certain amount of them full which makes room for big things like bananas and juice boxes. I can remove as I please which gives me a lot more options for their meals/snacks. Both my kids, ages 5 and 3 are able to open these boxes, no problem and if closed, they remain that way.


Chapters is having a sale right now and these boxes are only $15! Get yours while you can!

Photo from Google



4) Sistema Snack Box


For errand running/quick trips to the park, I picked up this Sistema Snack Box for the kids. It's compact and doesn't take up a lot of room in their backpacks/lunch boxes. It has two compartments for food and is leak proof. These were on sale at Chapter's for $2/each when I purchased them a few years ago but you can get them at Walmart as well for a similar price.






5) Contigo Water Bottles


We've been through every single brand you can think of when it comes to water bottles. They either leaked or broke within a couple of weeks of use. We've had our same Contigo bottles for well over 2 years now and we love them! They've withstood every single trip away, being thrown on the floor, the dish washer and then some. They're super durable, not too big to carry AND they hold enough water for the kids.


We've always purchased our Contigo bottles from Walmart. I've found that they're the cheapest here.

Photo from Google






6) Name Labels



We received some pretty awesome name labels from our daycare a few years ago. They were such great quality and were pretty cute! Unfortunately, they came with a pretty hefty price tag and so, I spent a lot of time researching the best labels I could get for a fraction of the price. I came across this Etsy store called Rainbow Labels (Canadian small business!) and purchased 1 set each for C and H. Each set comes with 88 name labels that are tear resistant, waterproof, microwave and dishwasher safe for wait for it, $6! I picked up a silver one for C and these ones for H.


Photo from Rainbow Labels



Lastly, we're considering buying a Thermos for C for hot lunches, especially during the winters months he's at school. However, we're not a rush since Summer is still here. Also, don't forget to buy some ice packs for cold lunches/beverages.







bottom of page