top of page

What I'm Reading: Magnolia Table Cookbook

I have this obsession for Chip and Joanna Gaines, don't worry it's a healthy one (if there's even such a thing!). I used to watch their show, Fixer Upper religiously and was seriously so sad when they announced that after five seasons, they were ending the show. This is where I was formally introduced to the Farmhouse look and so, our home is pretty much a wannabe replica of all of my favourite Joanna Gaines rooms.




When I found out she was coming out with a cookbook, I told everyone and their mother about it. I was surprised with one as an early Mothers Day gift from my husband. He knows me so darn well and I love him so much for paying attention.


I've got a number of recipes that I'm going to try out. Here are a few of my absolute favourites! Also, don't be surprised that most of these recipes are desserts, I'm pretty sure I've inherited my Moms love for baking.


- Lemon Pie

- Broiled Honey-Thyme Peaches with ice cream & aged balsamic

- Lemon Bundt Cake

- Lemon Angel Food Cake with fresh blueberry compote

- Mina's Lemon Bars

- Chocolate Dipped Shortbread Cookies

- Lemon & Lavender Icebox Cookies

- After-School Banana Bread

- Gaines Brother Burgers with drip jam

There's about 100 other recipes but these are definitely my fav!


I've read through her cookbook about 100 times already and find that all of her recipes are super simple. Even the ones that have a fancy name are simple! The reason why I enjoy baking over cooking a meal is because there are always complicated ingredients that are so difficult to find at my local market. It's pretty exciting to me that most of the recipes I want to try have ingredients that I ALREADY have in my cupboard. I also like that most of the recipes are kid-friendly! So that's certainly a plus.


Side note: I just purchased my first ever PASTRY (FREAKING) BLENDER! I'm pretty excited to use it so chances are, the first recipe I'm going to try involve this funny looking contraption.



bottom of page