top of page

Buttermilk Biscuits

Another day, another recipe done! As soon as I saw this in Joanna Gaines' cookbook, I knew that I had to give this a go. My Mom has an amazing recipe for pandesal, a Filipino bread. Till this day, whenever I smell that sweet aroma, I think about my childhood. Unfortunately, I do not have the patience nor the bread maker to make my own batch and so, I've been on a hunt for a recipe that didn't call for anything too complicated. This is it!

I found her recipe on TODAY.com, check it out here.

I swear, most of the ingredients that these recipes have I already have in my pantry. I just had to work up the courage to make these bad boys and thank goodness I did!

Jojo's Biscuits are light, easy to make and super delicious. She pairs these with a dollop of strawberry jam and/or gravy. This evening, I served these with some strawberry jam that I had made a few days earlier and wow, it was delicious!

Note: When mixing the ingredients together, make sure that it is not dry. I had followed the recipe exactly and I still found the mix too clumpy. Simply add more buttermilk until the mix is cohesive and you can make a ball of dough in your mixing bowl. Add more flour if you notice it getting too liquid.

So I had to improvise and use the top of mason jar to cut my dough. They turned out to be the exact size that the recipe called for!

Look at them! Perfect and rising just the way they're supposed to be!

Perfectly cooked and they smelled absolutely delicious too!

For my first time these turned out great however, I did taste a bit too much of salt. I decided to make a second batch and use 1/4 tsp of salt when making my self-rising flour as I only had all-purpose flour on hand. Next time, I'll buy some pre-made self-rising flour!

I had my husband and mother-in-law try my second batch and I was given two thumbs up from the both of them which made me so proud! Side note: My MIL is an amazing cook!

No seriously, look how fluffy they are inside?!

I think these are going to be a Sunday morning ritual now! Delicious!

bottom of page