top of page

Lemon Bars

Thank goodness for Joanna Gaines or rather, her friend Mina for sharing this wonderful Lemon Bar recipe with us! In my opinion, she should be swimming in money for creating these. There is something so refreshing when lemon is involved in a recipe. I swear, it's the perfect marriage of sugar and sour. Since I can't share the recipe with you due to legal restrictions, I'll share a recipe here that I came across that is quite similar. Nothing beats the original though right?

My Mother-in-law was around to be my taste tester once again and she gave me another thumbs up! I'm so glad she loves them, she is such an amazing cook and she's taught me a great deal about it, so her input is greatly and always appreciated. Also, I'm so thrilled that these were so easy to make. They're quick to whip up AND I had everything that I needed in my pantry. My husband and kids loved them too, so that makes me one happy mama. I served my lemon bars pretty warm, only because everyone including myself couldn't wait to try them but they also taste delicious cold, I may have had one for breakfast.

I did have to make a few changes to the recipe. I was using a 9x9 pan (the recipe called for a 9x13) and I had more than I needed in lemon topping, which I plan on using all of the next time I make this dessert, it was super intimidating when I poured all of it over the crust and thought I had drowned it. LOL. I skipped the salt, which made no difference to the taste of the lemon bars and I didn't use fresh lemons, I actually used the bottled lemon juice by Real Lemon. I know, I swear I'll get off my butt and use real lemons the next time. Lastly, I've learned quite quickly that salt can make or break your dish. So going forward, if a recipe calls for salt, I'll be skipping the salt entirely.

EDIT: This tastes 100x better the day after AND in the fridge. The taste of cold lemon desserts always get me and it is so refreshing after a scorching hot day!

bottom of page