top of page

What's in my Car: Mom Life

I often get asked how I have the energy to get up and get out with my kids and I have to say, the answer lies within my car! You know, you really can't say no if you have all that you need within arms reach. So I thought I'd share an What's in my Car post, you know something similar to a What's in my bag post?

Our 2016 Honda Pilot

We purchased our pilot on release date back in 2016. We have the AWD with navigation package and it has far exceeded our expectations for the past two years. It's my workhorse and has gotten us from road trip, to work, to school and back with ease. It's the perfect family SUV that's practical and super cool at the same time. My favourite part is the fact that it's an 8 seater and that I can fit all of my kids friends in it.

1) Granola bars or any snack (that you can buy bulk and that can last the cold/heat)

I always have a 30 pack of granola bars (we like fruit and nut) handy for when my kids AND my husband get hungry. It's not a lot but it'll tide them over for when we can actually sit down to a decent meal. This has saved me from many melt-downs. Hah!

2) Clothes bag

I'm pretty sure that every parent has spare clothes for their kids in their car/baby bag. I learned quite early that packing an outfit or two actually IS necessary. My kids love to get dirty and don't get me started when they come across a water park or a body of water, chances are they're going to dive right in because who am I to stop them from having the time of their lives? Word of advice, you THINK they're done getting wet but really, they're not. I have 3 sets of outfits per child at all times, this includes extra underwear, socks, toques, hats, mitts and a sweater each.

3) Swimming bag

This is a must-have in every car during the summer months! I don't know how many times my swimming bag has rescued my kids from major FOMO. For instance, a preschool Mama asked us to come over for a swim in their pool and I would have said no had it not been for the extra swimsuits, trunks and towels in the back of my carl. You also don't want to forget sand buckets, shovels and sunscreen for the kids.

4) First-aid kit

I've used my first-aid kit quite often, I mean come on, my kids are adventurous (lol!). It has bandaids, polysporin, gauze, and cleaning alcohol towelettes.

5) Water-bottles

I carry a pack of 24 water bottles in the back of my car at all times. It has come super handy during the warmer days and it ensures that me and the kids stay hydrated at all times.

6) Blankets/Picnic blanket

I always have a blanket and a waterproof blanket with me. The blanket has been great during the colder months and the waterproof blanket has been my saving grace for my trips to the beach.

7) Books/play-doh/toys

My kids are big readers and thankfully it keeps them entertained for a long time, I have about 5 books in a bag for times where waiting is the only option. Waiting in traffic is a big one and waiting for one of my kids to wake up from a car nap (mothers know!). I also have a couple of bottles of play-doh for when the books get boring.

8) Shade tent

I love my shade tent. It's been great for our beach and lake trips! When it's way too hot, this is the perfect place for my family and I to enjoy the heat but stay out of the sun. It comes in a compact carrying case that I store underneath my backseat chairs.

9) Shoes and slippers

I don't know about you but my kids are always getting their shoes wet or muddy. When the snow is here or the rain is pouring, is it super likely the kids will come inside my car with some pretty funky shoes. Also, living in the most weather bi-polar city, the most sunniest of days can turn into rain and hail in a quick second so it's best to be prepared.

10) Phone charger

Because of the most obvious reason, emergencies and for mommy blogger reasons, photographs. Side note: I should probably buy a camera.

11) Paper towel/Wet wipes

This is to clean up spills and messy hands and faces.


bottom of page