top of page

Lynden KOA

We just got home from a short but amazing trip down to Lynden for some much needed cabin time. We went with 3 other families and boy, was this trip a definite summer highlight for my kids. We only could make it for one night but we managed to jam a lot into our short schedule and trust me, we'll be back for more!


KOA, otherwise known as Kampgrounds of America is a family-friendly, budget-friendly and beautiful getaway for everyone. There are a variety of ways to stay at KOA and I can only speak for their Lynden location but you could bring your RV, set up a tent or do what we did and stay in one of their small but quaint cabins.


The cost to stay at the cabin around this time cost us $110CAD a night and each activity cost $, such as paddle boating and mini-golfing, which wasn't much for both.

Look how flipping adorable this is! The kids and I really loved the built in swing on the deck. There's also a wooden table out front as well as a personal fire pit. There is a heater, wifi, plugs and lighting!

Each cabin comes with a queen sized bed and...

.... bunk beds!

I was pleasantly surprised when I walked in and saw bunk beds because I really thought it just came with a queen. This is great for families and although we didn't use it, the bunk beds were nice to have for when the kids needed some quiet time.

Our pilot was parked right outside which was super convenient! We didn't unload everything because we could have easily just taken it out of the car when we needed to. I love this feature!

All of the cabins are pretty close to the washrooms. They are lighted, very clean, stocked with tissue paper and have a heated shower. They close the washrooms from 4pm to 5pm every day for cleaning.

I was so sad we weren't able to try out their heated pool but it looked fun and

was the perfect size for our kids.

My kids are 5 and 3 and they enjoyed the mini-golf course! It happened to be 50% off today and so we only paid $2.50 USD for both the kids.

They have a WICKED playground located in the middle of the camping grounds. It was age appropriate and the kids had a great time playing on it.

They have a little cafe which sold everything your heart desires like ICE CREAM and CANDY! My husband and I b-lined it for this place when we woke up this morning.

A 90's kids dream. Honestly, I love a good arcade.

They had this wall of game boards that were mostly from the 90's, which we loved. They even had the first version of Girl Talk - I wanted it SO bad when I was younger!

They even have sports equipment available of check-out!

Paddle boating was a lot of fun! Also, this isn't as easy as it looks. We got a really good workout with one circle around the lake. The kids loved it for sure and at $3.50USD/30 minutes, we managed to work it out so we only paid $7USD for all of us to have a turn or two.

Our group took cabins 2, 3, 4 and 12. 12 was right across from 1 and 1 was right beside the washrooms. Our cabin was 4 and we were nearby the lake, which my kids loved. There are trashcans right out in front and a hose for water as well. Down the way is a sink for washing dishes.

I was looking most forward to making s'mores by the campfire with the kids. It was a childhood favourite of mine when my family and I would go camping. They loved it!

We tried our hand at fishing for the first time and our super hand neighbour, R was totally patient while teaching me and all the kids how to cast for the first time.

The lakes in KOA are man made but the lakes do have fish. Apparently the best bait are pieces of bread in the middle lake. We didn't manage to hook a fish but we did see a lot of frogs and baby ducks.

Chase and Hana was so excited to fish!

They sell fishing rods along with basically everything you'll need to enjoy your stay (alcohol included!) at the gift shop located at the check-in building. The prices are insanely cheap and they don't charge an arm and a leg. The fishing rod we bought Chase was $20, which was the same price that Walmart was charging as well.

What we loved about KOA is the fact that when we weren't doing a big activity, the kids were on their bikes. I remember always being on my bike whenever we went away and I love that the kids were able to put their new bikes to use here.

Don't forget to bring chalk!

We'll be back KOA! Here's to another year at a cabin.

For more information, check them out here.


bottom of page