top of page

Back to School 2019!

Time flies when you're having fun and with the summer being just as fun as it was, I am not surprised that BTS is HERE! We had the best summer ever this year. We spent the majority of our time together, going on fun adventures and just living our best lives. With the first day of school less than a week away, I wanted to do another Back to School post, just like this one I did last year!

The kids are so excited for their first day of school!

On this years list, we have some familiar items and some new ones.

1) Backpacks

So last year, we purchased the kids backpacks for $10 each and let me tell you, you get what you pay for. The backpacks didn't last 3/4 months of school use and my daughter wasn't even in school full-time! We found an amazing deal on H's State backpack ($15! at Winners!) and re-used C's Kanken backpack from preschool. This September, H loved her backpack so much that we agreed to reuse it for this school year and decided to purchased C a Nike Bag during the Sports Chek sale.


For school purposes, a bigger backpack is the best choice, yes even if the kids are in preschool! Extra clothes, show and tell, lunch bags and arts and crafts could go home with your child and the last thing you need is to rush out of a crowded school with your kid(s) and their crafts in-hand. It is so convenient to be able to stuff everything in their backpack!



2) Lunch Bags

Last year we had rectangular-shaped bags to go with our bento boxes and what I didn't like about that was the fact that it took up the entire space of the bag which left no room for the kids' water bottle. Which leads me to my next must-have...

3) Sistema To Go Collection Bento Cube


Before you say anything, I still have mad love for our Bentology/Laptop Lunch boxes! I just wish they were smaller as they barely fit in the kids' lunch bags.


I found these at my local London Drugs and they happened to be 40% off and cost me $7 a box! I've been looking all over for a bento that was smaller but didn't compromise on the amount of food that I could pack for my kids and this checks all of my boxes. I do hope it works it out because it is so compact and thoughtfully planned. Sistema is a familiar brand to us as the kids have been using their dual snack container for more than 3 years! It is durable AND adorable!



3a) Bentology Lunch Boxes


Goodness gracious I LOVE these bento boxes SO MUCH! They've served me and the kids so well over the past several years. If you follow me on Instagram, make sure to check out my BENTO Highlight for more pictures of C and H's lunches over the entire school year.




I fully intend to keep using our Bentology Lunch Boxes since the kids love it and I know that it is the perfect amount of food for them to last the day.










4) Sistema Snack Box


I get so much use out of these little snack boxes! They make perfect additions to a full bento box and they are great snack keepers for preschool, spring/summer camp and weekend adventures. They are very well-made and have lasted many cycles through the washer as well as two very active children! This is definitely one of my most favourite purchases since it's great quality AND it costs from $2-$4.



5) Thermos Funtainers



In my first BTS post, I purchased the kids Contigo water bottles but early in the school year, I realized just how much my kids loved cold water - Especially during the warmer months of school! There were also issues with leakage and cleanliness as I found the straw area to frequently get dirty, even if it was just water. What we loved about the Funtainers is its ability to keep things warm or cold for long periods of time, how durable it is and how easy it is to clean! Thermos also offers replacement straws for $6 which I purchased for this year as my son chewed through his straw. If you're lucky, you can purchase these for $11 - $20.







6) Name Labels


We are still using the labels I purchased from the Rainbow Store on Etsy. For the most part, they've done their job and are great labels but I don't recommend them for use on any kind of fabric such as clothing and shoes. They've certainly worked well on harder, less pourus surfaces and have even stood the test of the dish washer! I do think that for $6 and the amount you get for that price is well-worth it. They're super cute and do the trick (for the most part!)



7) Attitude Living Baby Leaves Products


Stay tuned for another blog on these amazing kid-friendly bath products!














bottom of page